OVID-SP gives me RSI

20 05 2008

O.k. I don’t type well, have no ergonomic keyboard, mouse, chair or whatsoever, no software to urge a break, and I’m a little bit stressed these days, but the main reason that my shoulder, arm, elbow and wrist ache when typing (or even at rest) is introduction of OVID-SP.

OVID has changed it’s layout. It looks nice, and some tools are easier to find, but what is really bad for a heavy user and bad typist like me is the new interface.

The search history is below the search bar. The history shows the first search first and the last search last. As I said I’m a heavy user. A systematic search takes at least a few hours, and sometimes even a few days. It is a long road optimizing a search. Now in OVID every time I perform a search I have to scroll down looking for the last search, I have to think which new term I would like to add, which set(s) I want to combine or which set(s) I want to subtract. I scroll up to find the search numbers, I have to remember them: 62 not (46 or 36 or 63 or 66), scroll up again, fill in the search bar………… scroll down to look at the results….. Oh, that’s wrong, no hits….. Should have done (scroll up) 72 not (46 or 36 or 63 or 66). O.k. up again. oh I forgot, scroll down again….. No, that’s too far: I’m in the results section, scroll up, take another look, write it down so I wont’ forget, scroll up again, perform the search, scroll down, etcetera.

So it would have been far better if the search bar was under the last set in the search history (the history can be contracted if preferred, see TIP) or if the last search was shown first (like in PubMed).

In addition “the OVIDSP TIP” is in the way all the time, taking 1/3 of the active window and 1/2 of the print, making the search even look twice as long as it is. Why can’t I just click the TIP away. I have seen this a 1000 times. I know it by now. Please give me a simple pop-up.

Don’t think I hate OVID, I love it. But this is a development that is not very user friendly for the frequent user. I can’t help thinking that developers of databases like OVID, PubMed, Cochrane Library and TRIP just have the inexperienced quick searcher in mind when they try to improve the interface.

Do you experience the new interface the same way?

Scroll, scroll, scroll….. Up and down, up and down

<P>

*****************************************************************

NL flag NL vlag

O.k. ik ben geen beste typer, ik heb geen ergonomisch keybord, muis, stoel of weet ik veel wat en geen computerprogramma dat me dwingt te pauzeren en ja ik ben de laatste tijd een beetje gestresst. Maar dat is niet de (enige) reden dat ik nu zo’n last heb van mijn schouder, arm, elleboog en pols, ook in rust. Dat komt namelijk vooral door de introductie van OVID-SP.

Sinds begin dit jaar draait OVID als OVID-SP. Het ziet er prachtig uit, frisse kleurtjes, sommige zaken zijn veel makkelijker te vinden. Maar er is niet heel goed nagedacht over de positie van de zoekregel en de zoekgeschiedenis. En dat is erg vervelend voor een intensieve gebruiker. Als ik voor een systematisch review zoek kan ik wel 1 tot enkele dagen bezig zijn.

Wat is nu het geval? De zoekgeschiedenis zit onder de zoekregel, maar de laatste zoekactie staat helemaal onderaan. Dus telkens als je een zoekactie hebt uitgevoerd, moet je weer naar beneden om te kijken hoe je verder moet. Eerst kijk je of de term iets nieuws oplevert, je gaat zoekacties combineren etcetera. Dan moet je weer naar boven scrollen om elke zoekactie uit te voeren, je vergeet het weer, moet weer naar beneden scrollen, scrollt tever door en komt in de resulaatsectie etcetera.

Als je maar een kleine zoekactie hebt heb je daar niet echt last van maar bij een opbouw van een lastige actie, waarvan de eerste 30-60 regels wel vaststaan, maar de rest niet, moet je echt nodeloos scrollen. Als je dat uren doet heb je echt een lamme arm. En stoppen durf ik ook niet echt, want het is me meermalen overkomen dat ik er dan uitgegooid werd.

Dus het zou beter geweest zijn als de zoekregel onder de laatste zoekactie van de (inklapbare) zoekgeschiedenis zou staan of als de laatste zoekactie het eerst getoond werd (zoals in PubMed).

Daar komt nog eens bij dat de “OVIDSP TIP” hinderlijk in de weg staat: het neemt bijna 1/3 van het beeld en 1/2 van de print in beslag en biedt na tig keer nou niet geweldig schokkende informatie. Waarom kun je het niet gewoon wegklikken?

Begrijp me goed, ik heb niets tegen OVID, integendeel. Het biedt zoveel meer, dat ik het graag gebruik. Maar deze verandering vind ik niet erg gebruikersvriendelijk. Ik heb echt het idee dat mensen die databases als OVID, PubMed, Cochrane Library en TRIP ontwikkelen veel meer aan de beginnende zoeker denken dan aan de ervaren rot in het vak.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 08 2008
New OvidSP release (planned August 5th) will allow more flexible searching « Laika’s MedLibLog

[...] New OvidSP release (planned August 5th) will allow more flexible searching 5 08 2008 I wrote before (see here) that ‘OVID-SP gave me RSI’, because I had to scroll too much b… [...]

22 08 2008
New OvidSP-release, Version 2 - Part I « Laika’s MedLibLog

[...] what an improvements! This is really what I had hoped for (see this post on the new OVID SP; and a previous one about Ovid causing RSI). ‘All’ boxes collapsible, and movable… Although I first didn’t succeed in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

