Locate Your Visitors (2)

30 09 2008
ClustrMaps

A few months ago I blogged about how to use ClustrMaps for locating your visitors (see here). I still use Clustrmaps.
The map is cumulative: you get an overview of where the visits cluster (depicted as large or small clusters, see below) and an approximate idea of the locations. Approximate, because you can’t zoom in or look up locations.

Flagcounter
Recently I put a new free widget in the side bar, Flagcounter. This tool also gives a cumulative overview, but it summarizes the counts per country, visualized with flags. Judging from the number of clicks on my Flagcounter, the flags seem popular. You can easily set your preferences (colors, number of colums and flags) and change it afterwards in your widget, i.e. by changing columns=2/maxflags=20 (2 columns with 10 flags) into columns=3/maxflags=21 (3 columns with 7 flags each). Please, consult the FlagCounter-Faq for these and other tips (to avoid starting over again and loose your gathered info).
It is cumulative, thus you get an idea of the countries of origin of visitors over time. On basis of the counts since September it can be concluded that I’m mostly visited (this month) by English speaking people from the United States, UK, Canada and Australia. Of course I’m also frequented by Dutch speaking people form the Netherlands and Belgium.
It is also nice to see from which exotic places visitors found their way to this blog: Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Aruba, Vietnam, Belarus. Also surprising that India, Phillipines and Malaysia are in the top 15 this month, rather than Spain and Denmark for instance.
Who’s Among us
Also visually attractive is the “who is among us button”. It shows how many visitors are simultaneously present at your blog (within a time span of 10 minutes). The highest number I’ve seen on my blog is 7. For some blogs it’s ‘as usual’, for this blog it is exceptional.
While writing this post I found a bunch of other possibilities hidden behind this button, for instance a world map showing the locations of your visitors, with the people who are currently on your site blinking (light blue in the picture below; not working as a widget in WordPress, but visible when you click on the counter). In addition there is a map with statistics per hour, day, month, year. However, I don’t grasp what the numbers actually stand for. These certainly don’t represent a cumulative number per hour. (if I have 4 visitors per 10 min. than I don’t expect a maximum of 3 per hour or 3 per day?).
Sitemeter
Many of these functionalities are also present in the Sitemeter, a widget that is inconspicuously present at this blog’s sidebar, but is most frequently consulted by me together with the WordPress stats.
Similar to “who’s among us” there is a nice world map, with the most recent visit in red, the last 2-10 visits in green and the other 90 visits in white. You can zoom in, look at the exact location and ip-number of the visitor whether in day or night zone.
It is a good way to improve your topographical knowledge. ;)
Alas you can only observe the last 100 visitors, which means that in my top days I loose the statistics within a day.
If you want to upgrade, you have to pay a few dollar per month at least.

What I like the most, besides the map: the Visit Details of last 100 visitors. This list shows visit time, visit length (however if someone is just reading the frontpage without clicking, it counts as zero seconds), number of pages visited, entry and last page, IP address etc.
You can exclude your own visits and make the stats public or privat.
By using the sitemeter (in conjunction with the WordPress stats) you get an impression which visitors visit which pages.
Sitemeter has helped me to identify the IP address and domain of someone sending me a Google Doc invitation that was really meant as spam (I found out because that IP linked to someone referred to at my blog and later found in that Google doc (see earlier post)).
The sitemeter also helped me to identify the 10.000st visitor: Wowter from Wageningen.
Actions

Information

5 responses

30 09 2008
vdbroekw

They are nice as widgets on your blog but I prefer google analytics and stats in wordpress. Keywords search terms etc etc.
But you will probably also use those?
Regards Dr Shock

30 09 2008
laikaspoetnik

Dear Dr Shock,

Thanks for your comment.
This post was mainly about locating your visitors, but one tool combining all functionalities would be largely preferable.

For stats I use WordPress stats (also for keywords used). And Feedburner, but that doesn’t give much info.
I don’t have Google analytics (I only have a Google-alert for links to my page”). Is this compatible with WordPress (not hosted by yourself)? If it is I’m surely interested to try it (and skip some gadgets colorful gadgets perhaps). Functionality is more important.

1 10 2008
vdbroekw

There is a plugin for google analytics on wordpress.org. I used another way by first defining the site in google analytics and than create a private page with the required code, works fine.
regards Dr Shock

28 11 2008
vinod

Have you any idea that I can find the visitors of my website but I do not want to visitor that map or box of other visitors . I want the privacy of my online visitors from one and other

3 12 2008
laikaspoetnik

@Vinod. I’m not sure what you are looking for. This post is only about localizing your visitors. Most gadgets above do not disclose more than the visitors location (or really the location of the provider). With respect to Sitemeter: You can choose to make your statistics reports private. i didn’t do that, because I have to login every single time I want to take a look.
There are other more complete analytical tools. Google analytics, as suggested by Walter van den Broek above, is one of them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

