Biomedical Journals on Twitter

4 08 2009

Because of my vacation I was unable to publish about the list of Medical Journals on Twitter that I had initiated in the form of a spreadsheet.

Meanwhile this list has been widely covered in the medical blogosphere, i.e. here, here (nature blogs, yeah), here, here and here, (without -correct- attribution) and here (Ves Dimov) and here (Andrew Spong) (with attribution). And possibly many more.

Do I have anything to add? No not really.

Nevertheless, I would like to point my readers who may not be yet aware of this list. It is open to anybody to edit. Thus if you know of a medical journal on Twitter that is not included, then please feel free to add it to the spreadsheet (if you have Google mail) or ask me to do it for you.

For those who are not used to editing Google spreadsheets, please follow the detailed description of Andrew Spong at his blog.

The reason why I started this spreadsheet was that Walter van den Broek (drshock) asked me “how to find which medical journals on Twitter (see part of the Twitter discussion rescued from Friendfeed (tweets get lost after a few days).

4-8-2009 15-31-46 spreadsheet medical Journals friendfeedI made a spreadsheet, and asked input from the twitterverse: the easiest and most efficient way to compile a list. There were many initial suggestions of @artadobbs: (see @UCONNHealthLib). She already followed many e-resources updates, as a service for UCONN Health Library users. Ves Dimov (@drves) also had great input. The other editors have added their names on the spreadsheet (and I have added mine too now ;)). Thanks to all! With Ves I’m truly impressed of how well Google Spreadsheets work as a structured wiki.

Here is a Figure of part of the list (click to enlarge), the actual spreadsheet can be found here.

4-8-2009 17-57-28 spreadsheet twitter journals

Yesterday drshock asked me “Any pharmaceutical drug companies using twitter?” so the Medical Journal spreadsheet may not be my last one. ;)

4-8-2009 18-07-43 pharmaceutical companies twitter

Twitter discussion. Read from down up

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Actions

Information

5 responses

4 08 2009
Bertalan Meskó

Jacqueline, I’m sorry for the lack of attribution. It wasn’t clear for me how stood behind the idea, but now I updated my post. Thanks!

4 08 2009
laikaspoetnik

Hi @Berci. Thanks for that. Strictly spoken there is no “owner”, since it is a wiki, but it is kind of strange when people start calling this Berci’s Biomedical Journals list. ;)

8 08 2009
List(s) of Tweeting Journals: Your Votes Please! « Laika’s MedLibLog

[…] of Tweeting Journals: Your Votes Please! 8 08 2009 In the previous post “Biomedical Journals on Twitter” I showed a spreadsheet of biomedical […]

29 03 2010
Oliver

Please could you add the Molecular Human Reproduction (MHR) Twitter to your spreadsheet – http://twitter.com/MHR_basic_sci

20 06 2010
J Surg Rad

Journal of Surgical Radiology – this peer-reviewed, open access journal is also available online. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

