Cochrane 2.0 Workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium #CC2009

12 10 2009

Today Chris Mavergames and I held a workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium, entitled:  Web 2.0 for Cochrane (see previous post and abstract of the workshop)

First I gave an introduction into Medicine 2.0 and (thus) Web 2.0. Chris, Web Operations Manager and Information Architect of the Cochrane Collaboration, talked more about which Web 2.0 tools were already used by the Cochrane Collaboration and which Web 2.0 might be useful as such.

We had half an hour for discussion which was easily filled. There was no doubt about the usefulness of Web 2.0 for the Cochrane in this group. Therefore, there was ample room for discussing technical aspects, like:

  • Can you load your RSS feed of a PubMed search in Reference Manager? (According to Chris you can)
  • How can you deal with this lot of information (by following a specific subject, or not too much people – not many updates on a daily basis; you don’t have to follow it all, just pick up the headlines, when you can)
  • Are you involved in a Wiki that is successful? (it appears very difficult to involve people)
  • What happens if people comment or upload picture on facebook (of the Cochrane collaboration) in an appropriate way (Chris: didn’t happen, but you have to check and remove them)
  • How do you follow tweets (we showed Tweetdeckhashtags # and #followfridays)
  • What is the worst thing that happened to you (regarding web 2.0)? Chris and I thought a long time. Chris: that I revealed something that wasn’t officially public yet (though appeared to be o.k.). Me: spam (but I remove it/don’t approve it).
    Later I remembered two better (worse) examples, like the “Clinical Reader” social misbehaviour, a good example of how “branding” should not be done, and sites that publish top 50 and 100 list of bloggers just to get more traffic to their spam websites

Below is my presentation on Slideshare.

The (awful) green blackgound color indicates I went “live” on the web. As a reminder of what I did, I included some screendumps.

The current workshop was just meant to introduce and discuss Medicine 2.0 and Cochrane 2.0.

I hope we have a vivid discussion Wednesday when the plenary lectures deal with Cochrane 2.0.

The answers to my question on Twitter

  1. Why Web 2.0 is useful? (or not)
  2. Why we need Cochrane 2.0? (or not)

can be found on Visibletweets (temporary) and saved as: Quoteurl.com/sggq0 (permanent selection).

I think it would be good when these points are taken into account during the Cochrane 2.0 plenary discussions.

* possible WIKI (+ links) might appear at http://medicine20.wetpaint.com/page/Cochrane+2.0

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Actions

Information

9 responses

12 10 2009
Twitter Trackbacks for Cochrane 2.0 Workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium #CC2009 « Laika’s MedLibLog [laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

[...] Cochrane 2.0 Workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium #CC2009 « Laika’s MedLibLog laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com/2009/10/12/cochrane-2-0-workshop-at-the-cochrane-colloquium-cc2009 – view page – cached Today Chris Mavergames and I held a workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium, entitled: Web 2.0 for Cochrane (see previous post and abstract of the — From the page [...]

12 10 2009
alisha764

Thank you for posting this great summary of the presentation!

It is difficult, in this age of information overload, to not only manage the information you want to review but to pick through all of the spam.

13 10 2009
Sarah Stewart

Great work – congratulations, Sarah

13 10 2009
Helena Vidaurri de la Cruz

Hello Sarah:
This is really Web 2.0 in plain English.
I am a pediatric dermatologist, derm teacher and researcher, and I’ve been wondering on setting an interactive page for my students.
Your talk has given me plenty of ideas
I thank you very much

13 10 2009
A Personalized Twitter Times: useful to others too. « Laika’s MedLibLog

[...] 13 10 2009 Yesterday I posted my “Introduction to Medicine 2.0″ presentation on this blog and on Slideshare (where it is currently featured at their homepage). Looking back I think that [...]

13 10 2009
Sarah Stewart

Hi Helena, I wish I could take credit for this presentation but I only commented…Laika is the author :)

I have been trying to show some teachers I work with the value of Twitter but they’re resisting. I don’t think people who use computers infrequently do appreciate synchronous tools like Twitter.

13 10 2009
Cochrane Database 2.0: Slideshow « ScienceRoll

[...] small staff and it’s time even for them to join the web 2.0 movement, so I was glad to hear  Jacqueline Limpens and Chris Mavergames held a workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium and published the slideshow as [...]

10 11 2009
#CECEM David Tovey -the Cochrane Library’s First Editor in Chief « Laika’s MedLibLog

[...] Cochrane 2.0 Workshop at the Cochrane Colloquium #CC2009 (laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com) [...]

14 08 2010
Friday Foolery #31 Waving goodbye… (or not?) « Laika's MedLibLog

[...] think that a year ago I told people in a workshop that Google Wave could make their live [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

