Happy Anniversary Highlight HEALTH, ScienceRoll & Sterile Eye!

13 12 2011

Starting a blog is easy. But maintaining a blog costs time and effort. Especially when having a job/while studying (and having a private life as well).

This blog almost celebrates its 4th year (February 2012).

I’m happy to notice that many established (bio)medical & library blogs, that inspired me to start blogging, are still around.

Like one of the greatest medical blogs, CasesBlog by Dr Ves Dimov. And the medlib blogs The Search Principle blog by Dean Giustini and the Krafty Librarian by Michelle Kraft.

All these blogs are still going strong.

The same is true for the blog ScienceRoll by Bertalan Mesko (emphasis on health 2.0), that celebrated its 5th anniversary last month. That same month Sterile Eye (Life, death and surgery through a lens) celebrated its 4th year of existence.

This month Highlight Health (main author Walter Jessen) celebrates its 5th year anniversary.

And the nice thing is that Highlight Health celebrates this with prize pack giveaways.

There are 4 drawings. Each prize pack consist of the following:

All you have to do is to subscribe to the blog in the form of an email alert. People, like me, who are already subscribers are also eligible to participate in the drawings. (see this post for all info)

With so many ‘golden oldies’ around, I wonder about you, my audience. Do you blog? And if you do, for how long? Please tell me in the poll below.

If you are a (bio)medical, library or science blogger (blogging in English), I would appreciate if you could fill in this spreadsheet as well. You are free to edit the spreadsheet and add names of other bloggers as well.


Actions

Information

4 responses

13 12 2011
CasesBlog

Thank you for this wonderful reminder.

It’s nice to see some of the early pioneers still following their individual blog journeys. Social media tools and services have evolved but blogs still have their unique place.

I’ve started more than 10 blogs on Blogger.com and I still keep some of them but the two that have gained more readers are:

CasesBlog http://casesblog.blogspot.com
Started 3/8/2005

Allergy Notes http://allergynotes.blogspot.com
Started 5/25/2007

Each of them has a companion website: ClinicalCases.org and AllergyCases.org

It would be nice if you could give some descriptive title to the spreadsheet:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AqY7bhmA8k1jdElTa2FQWlRrMkNMMDRiU1dtZTRuOWc#gid=0

13 12 2011
CasesBlog

Most importantly, thank you for writing such a wonderful and well-researched blog. Some blog posts are as detailed and evidence-based as review articles or meta-analyses, and you have always set the benchmark high. I look forward to reading the blog in the future, and truly appreciate your finding the time and your research effort.

Thank you for the kind words for my blog. It’s just a digital notebook.

13 12 2011
Øystein

Thanks for mentioning my blog anniversary! And congrats to CasesBlog and Scienceroll on their anniversaries!

I still find the blog to be my own unique place where I can elaborate on things much more than in other “fast paced” social media like Twitter and Facebook.

What has changed over the years is that I don’t post as often as I used to do, but I put more time and effort into the posts I write.

My main challenge is still to write a meaningful blog on medical photography (most often) without my own photos, as most of the medical photos I take are not meant for the public.

17 12 2011
Dr. Bertalan Meskó

You are an inspiration, Jacqueline! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

