Medical Information Matters 2.8 is up!

15 10 2010

The new edition of Medical Information Matters (formerly Medlibs round) is up at Danielhooker.com.

The main theme is “Programs in libraries or medical education”.
Besides two posts from this blog (A Filter for Finding Animal Studies in PubMed” and more on the topic: An Educator by Chance) the following topics are included: a new MeSH (inclusion under mild librarian pressure), PubMed in your pocket, embedding Google Gadgets in normal webpages and experiences with introducing social bookmarking to medical students.
If you find this description to cryptic (and I bet you do), then I invite you to read the entire post here. I found it a very pleasant read.

Since we are already midway October, I would like to invite you to start submitting here (blog carnival submission form).

Our next host is Dean Giustini of the The Search Principle blog. The deadline is in about 3 weeks ( November 6th).

Related Articles


Actions

Information

4 responses

15 10 2010
cryptocheilus

Nothing really matters. Medical info is just a niche. Education is a matter of finding the “right stuff”.

So, just stop talking and teaching 2.0. medic-stuff to med-students and professionals. At least on your blog.

Teach the masses en learn the studens about them.

Oh Yeah; I’am way offtopic. Don’t care though.

15 10 2010
laikaspoetnik

No, nothing really matters.
That is why it is surprising that you have such a biting pen when it concerns this “medical information matters” post.

Of course you realized that “matters” is not only a verb, but also a noun.

It is just a name for a blog carnival, chosen to replace “medlibs round”, which suggested it was only meant for medical librarians.

In this post I just referred to the new edition which is up at http://danielhooker.com/2010/10/medical-information-matters-28/.

Daniel choose the topic, which in my view is a great topic for many librarians, educators and doctors.

As far as education is merely “finding the right stuff” (and I don’t think that it is), it is good to share all the experiences and to get tips.

I do not understand what you mean by:

So, just stop talking and teaching 2.0. medic-stuff to med-students and professionals. At least on your blog.

Teach the masses en learn the studens about them.

– I don’t teach web 2.0 to students (although I would like to)
– I learn students how to search info (how irrelevant that may be)
– I sometimes (very seldom) discuss this on my blog
– Web 2.0 topics/tools are more often a topic, mostly this has nothing to do with medical education (although I don’t know what would be wrong with it if it did)
– I should stop talking on my blog about it, yet teach the masses. Via which channel. TV??

Sorry. This topic may not have your interest. The downside of my broad coverage of topics, is that my posts will be interesting to some not all of my readers. Librarians may not like my science posts, doctors not my librarian posts, scientist not my fun posts etc.

Medical Information is a small niche, that is true, but it is what I’m most interested in. And that is why I will often blog about it.

18 10 2010
Problems with Disappearing Set Numbers in PubMed’s Clinical Queries « Laika's MedLibLog

[…] Medical Information Matters 2.8 is up! (laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com) […]

6 11 2010
Medical Information Matters: Call for Submissions « Laika's MedLibLog

[…] Medical Information Matters 2.8 is up! (laikaspoetnik.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment